Sunday, October 2nd, 2011 by mgserrano

Social Accountability

In the last decade, there has emerged in developing countries a push to strengthen society’s role in improving government accountability, now termed the “Social Accountability (SAc) approach”. SAc is better understood as process that goes beyond citizens watchdogging government.

Read more

New Stakeholders Committee Members elected

MCA-P has a new set of Stakeholders Committee members, elected in a Stakeholders Consultative Assembly held for every project. The new members come from the project areas, either community leaders or members of non-government or civil society organizations. 

In the Stakeholders Consultative Assembly for the KALAHI-CIDSS Project held on April 23, 2013 in La Breza Hotel in Quezon City, the following were elected: Celia Flor of DAWN Foundation; Jean Naval from Caramoan, Camarines Sur; Alfredo Lera Jr. from Vallehermoso, Negros Oriental; and Leovic Ramos from Tanauan, Leyte. 

For SNRDP, one SC member was elected from each contract package area. During the Assembly held on April 25, 2013 in St. Mary’s College in Borongan, Samar, the following were elected: Nestor Nachura from Catbalogan, Samar (Contract Package 1); Urbano Campo from Taft, Eastern Samar (CP2); Dadit Gesite from Balangkayan, Eastern Samar (CP 3); and Paz Dimaangay from Guiuan, Eastern Samar (CP 4). 

For RARP, the newly-elected SC members are: Atty. Zenaida Alcantara from the Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Atty. Jose Cabrera from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, Rizza Latorre from Metro Pacific Investments Corporation, and Atty. Lea Roque of Punongbayan & Araullo. 

At the MCA-P Board of Trustees Meeting on June 6, 2013, one representative from each project area was formally elected as a Voting Trustee: Lera for KALAHI-CIDSS, Campo for SNRDP, and Roque for RARP. Formally elected as Non-Voting Trustees were Flor and Nachura who, together with the seven others, compose the MCA-PStakeholders Committee. The nine-member SC plus the three Voting Trustees are called Stakeholders Council.






Atty. Zenaida Alcantara Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants RARP
Atty. Jose Cabrera Integrated Bar of the Philippines RARP
Urbano Campo* Taft, Eastern Samar SNRDP
Paz Dimaangay Guiuan, Eastern Samar SNRDP
Celia Mateo Flor** DAWN Foundation KALAHI-CIDSS
Dadit Gesite Balangkayan, Eastern Samar SNRDP
Rizza Latorre Metro Pacific Investments Corporation RARP
Alfredo Lera Jr.* Vallehermoso, Negros Oriental KALAHI-CIDSS
Nestor Nachura** Catbalogan, Samar SNRDP
Jean Naval Caramoan, Camarines Sur KALAHI-CIDSS
Leovic Ramos Tanauan, Leyte KALAHI-CIDSS
Atty. Lea Roque*  Punongbayan & Araullo RARP

* Voting Board Trustee

** Non-Voting Board Trustee